





Prof. Dr. Volker Springel

Computational Astrophysics [©] <u>2195</u> [©] <u>vspringel@...</u> [₽] 221

Main Focus

Computational astrophysics, cosmic structure formation, dark matter and dark energy, galaxy formation, feedback processes, supermassive black holes, high-performance computing.

Curriculum Vitae

Education and professional employment:

- 1991 1996: Study of Physics at the University of Tübingen and the University of California at Berkeley
- 1996: Diploma in Physics, Eberhard-Karls-Universität Tübingen
- 1996 1999: PhD in Astrophysics at the Ludwig-Maximilians Universität in Munich
- 1999 2000: Postdoc at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA
- 2000 2001: Business consultant (project management in the consumer goods industry)
- 2001 2003: Postdoc at the Max-Planck-Institute for Astrophysics, Garching
- 2003 2005: Tenure-track scientific staff at the Max-Planck-Institute for Astrophysics, Garching
- 2005 2010: Research group leader (W2, tenured) at the Max-Planck-Institute for Astrophysics, Garching

- 2010 - 2018: Professor for Theoretical Astrophysics (W3), Department of Physics and Astronomy, Heidelberg University, and Group Leader Theoretical Astrophysics at the Heidelberg Institute for Theoretical Studies (HITS)

- 2011 - 2018: Member of the Interdisciplinary Center for Scientific Computing at Heidelberg University

- since 2012: External scientific member of the Max-Planck Society and the Max-Planck-Institute for Astronomy in Heidelberg

- since 2017: Scientific Member and Director at the Max-Planck-Institute for Astrophysics in Garching
- since 2019: Honorary Professor at the Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich

Honors and awards:

- 1989 1996: Scholarship by the German Academic Scholarship Foundation
- 2000: Otto Hahn-Medal, Max-Planck-Society
- 2004: Heinz Maier-Leibnitz-Award of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
- 2005: International Media Award for Science and Art
- 2006: Elected into the "Eleven for Science", Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft

- 2006 – 2011: Member of the Young Academy at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina

- 2009: Klung-Wilhelmy-Weberbank Prize for Physics
- 2013: European Reseach Council Consolidator Grant "EXAGAL"
- 2016: Golden Spike Award of the High Performance Computing Center Stuttgart
- 2016: Elected Member of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina
- 2018: Astrophysical Software Award of the German Astronomical Society
- 2020: Elected as an International Member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences
- 2020: Gruber Prize for Cosmology
- 2021: Leibniz Award of the DFG

Selected memberships in boards and commissions:

- since 2006: Member of the International Astronomical Union (IAU)

- since 2011: Member of the Cosmological Simulation Working Group (CSWG) of the EUCLID satellite of the European Space Agency (ESA)

- 2017 2023: Member of the scientific advisory board of the Gauß-Center for Supercomputing (GCS)
- 2015 2020: Scientific Advisory Board, Institute for Computational Cosmology, Durham University, UK
- since 2018: Board of Trustees, Welt der Physik
- 2019 2022: Member of the Steering Committee of the Max-Planck Princeton Center for Plasmaphysics
- since 2019: Member of the Research Board of the ORIGINS Cluster of Excellence
- since 2020: Scientific Advisory Board of the Zentrum für Astronomie (ZAH), Heidelberg University

- since 2021: Board of Trustees, MIP.labor, Berlin
- since 2023: Vice President of the German Astronomical Society
- © 2003-2024, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft